50+ Rubyists to Follow on Twitter

by on October 29, 2008

The response to an earlier post “Famous Ruby Personalities: Who do you recommend?” was very encouraging and many wrote in asking for the Twitter profiles of these Famous Ruby Personalities and other Ruby developers and bloggers.

But What’s Twitter?

Twitter

The New York Times says:

Twitter is a simple messaging service that you’ve either heard about a lot or not at all. Either way, it’s a fun and useful tool, well worth trying if you want to reach potential and existing customers, employees or employers.

Rubyists’ List

Victor Goff, Jerry Anning and Willian Molinari of RubyLearning along with Gaveen and Josh Nichols (both Twitter contacts) have painstakingly compiled this list of over 50 Rubyists, in alphabetical order, with a link to their Twitter profile. The following list is not intended to be all-inclusive, but it should give you a great start to following some talented Rubyists.

Note: There are many Rubyists who either are not using Twitter or are keeping their updates private. Tick

  1. Amanda Morin – AmandaMorin
  2. Brian Marick – marick
  3. Bruce Williams – wbruce
  4. Chad Fowler – chadfowler
  5. Charles Nutter – headius
  6. Chris Matthieu – chrismatthieu
  7. Chris O’Sullivan – thechrisoshow
  8. Chris Wanstrath – defunkt
  9. Christian Guimaraes – csgui
  10. Dave Thomas – pragdave
  11. David A Black – david_a_black
  12. David Heinemeier Hansson – dhh
  13. Dr Nic Williams – drnic
  14. Eric Hodel – drbrain
  15. Evan Phoenix – evanphx
  16. Ezra Zygmuntowicz – ezmobius
  17. Fabio Akita – AkitaOnRails
  18. Fabio Cevasco – h3rald
  19. Geoffrey Grosenbach – topfunky
  20. Giles Bowkett – gilesgoatboy
  21. Graeme Mathieson – mathie
  22. Gregg Pollack – greggpollack
  23. Ian Dees – undees
  24. Ilya Grigorik – igrigorik
  25. Jamie van Dyke – fearoffish
  26. Jamis Buck – jamis
  27. Jason Friedjasonfried
  28. Jason Seifer – jseifer
  29. Jay Fields – jaycfields
  30. Jay Phillips – jicksta
  31. Jeff Cohen – jeffcohen
  32. Jeremy Kemper – bitsweat
  33. Jeremy McAnally – jm
  34. Jim Weirich – jimweirich
  35. John Lam – john_lam
  36. Jonathan Conway – noodlesinmysand
  37. Luis Lavena – luislavena
  38. Lyle Johnson – lylejohnson
  39. Mark McGranaghan – mmcgrana
  40. Michael Morin – UziMonkey
  41. Mislav Marohnic – mislav
  42. Obie Fernandez – obie
  43. Ola Bini – olabini
  44. Peter Cooper – peterc
  45. Peat Bakke – peat
  46. Renaud Morvan – neleanth
  47. Rich Kilmer – rich_kilmer
  48. Ryan Bates – rbates
  49. Stuart Halloway – stuarthalloway
  50. Tobias Lutke – tobi
  51. Thibaut Barrere – thibaut_barrere
  52. Yehuda Katz – wycats
  53. Yukihiro Matsumoto – yukihiro_matz

Update: Keep the feedback coming in. We are updating the list based on your recommendations.

  1. Adam Keys – therealadam
  2. Aman Gupta – tmm1
  3. Amr N Tamimi – amrnt
  4. Amy Hoy – amyhoy
  5. Anil Wadghule – anildigital
  6. Anthony Eden – aeden
  7. Antonio Cangiano – acangiano
  8. arjunram – arjunram
  9. Brian Dainton – bdainton
  10. Chad Pytel – cpytel
  11. Chris Chandler – squanderingtime
  12. Claudio Poli – masterkain
  13. Collin T Miller – collintmiller
  14. Courtenay Gasking – court3nay
  15. Dennis Theisen – soleone
  16. Derek Neighbors – dneighbors
  17. Desi Mcadam – desi
  18. Eldon Alameda – ealameda
  19. Emilio Tagua – miloops
  20. Eric Falcao – efalcao
  21. Erik Michaels-Ober – sferik
  22. Err the Blog – err
  23. Hasham Malik – hasham2
  24. Ian Warshak – iwarshak
  25. J.J. Cicchelli – monsieur_rock
  26. Jade Meskill – iamruinous
  27. James Golick – jamesgolick
  28. Jesse Newland – jnewland
  29. Joe O’Brien – objo
  30. Joe Ferris – joeferris
  31. Jon Yurek – jyurek
  32. Laurent Sansonetti – lrz
  33. Lindsay Holmwood – auxesis
  34. Luke Francl – lof
  35. Manik Juneja – mjuneja
  36. Marc-Andre Cournoyer – macournoyer
  37. Michael Bleigh – mbleigh
  38. Michael Ivey – ivey
  39. Mike Perham – mperham
  40. Nick Quaranto – qrush
  41. PJ Hyett – pjhyett
  42. Pratik Naik – lifo
  43. Rick – technoweenie
  44. Rick Roberts – ricroberts
  45. Sau Sheong Chang – sausheong
  46. Scott Chacon – chacon
  47. Steve Sanderson – stevesanderson
  48. Sur – sur
  49. Sven Fuchs – svenfuchs
  50. Tim Bray – timbray
  51. Tom Preston-Werner – mojombo
  52. Vamsee Kanakala – vamsee

The following list is thanks to Peter Cooper and AmandaNot “Rubyists” per-se, but should still be of interest:

  1. Engine Yard – engineyard
  2. FiveRuns – fiveruns
  3. Highruns, Inc. – highruns
  4. integrum – integrum
  5. MorphLabs – MorphLabs
  6. Rails – rails
  7. Rails Link Library – rails_bookmarks
  8. Rock & Code – rockncode
  9. Ruby Commit – rubyci
  10. RubyFlow – rubyflow
  11. RubyInside – RubyInside
  12. RubyLearning – RubyLearning
  13. Ruby News – ruby_news
  14. Setfire Media – setfire
  15. taazza – taazza

Have we missed out any Rubyists?
You can help
. Please feel free to add a link to a Rubyist’s Twitter profile. We would love to hear why you think the particular Rubyist is important to Twitter with. Also, do add a link to your Twitter profile in the comments.

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

Posted by Satish Talim

Follow me on Twitter to communicate and stay connected

{ 44 comments… read them below or add one }

Leave a Comment

{ 57 trackbacks }

Previous post:

Next post: